Review: I Walk With Monsters (Vault Comics)

Writer: Paul Cornell
Artist: Sally Cantirino
Colorist: Dearbhla Kelly
Letterer: Andworld
Designer: Tim Daniel 
On Sale: 11/25/2020

Vault yet again delivers a new and original story with dark, harrowing themes set in a world of fantasy.

PLOT AND STORY

The main character is Jacey who in her past has ‘The Important Man’ who took away her brother. Now Jacey has David, who sometimes transforms into a terrifying beast. Together, they’ve found a way to live to hunt, sniffing out men who prey on the vulnerable. But Jacey and David are about to run into ‘The Important Man’ again.

I Walk With Monsters is a multi layered, haunting story which deals with some tough subject matter. Paul Cornell has written a very, very interesting opening issue which gives the readers a glimpse into Jacy’s troubled past, the demons that plague this world and those that lurk within you.

I found myself reading this issue a few times to make sure I didn’t miss anything. The story jumps between current day and flashbacks to Jacey’s past which are both entwined, a theme I believe will continue through the series. I find this type of storytelling very intriguing because as the reader you see something happen and react on what you have seen then when you see a flashback to the past it puts more context into the situation and can make you react differently. 

ART

Artist Sally Cantirino and colourist Dearbhla Kelly have created a wonderfully dark, terrifyingly gothic book which will appeal to fans of books like Harrow County and Redneck.

Detailed character emotions, graphic bloody scenes with strong bold colours makes this a book to really catch your eye. 

Letterer Andworld Design who is ever present in modern comics again gives us clear, well placed words to complement the structure to the panels.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I Walk With Monsters blends horror and storytelling perfectly with a narrative to engage a mature audience. With a twist and a cliffhanger I’m eager to see what dark path the next issues go down.

I read this via an advance preview copy issued by Vault comics and received no incentive to review this comic.

One thought on “Review: I Walk With Monsters (Vault Comics)

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: